Biography

Ganna Gryniva is a Berlin-based vocalist, pianist and composer. Devoted to exploring her voice in contemporary music, her diverse output includes work as a bandleader, interdisciplinary performer, improvisor and sidewoman in numerous national and international musical projects.

Having roots in Ukraine and Germany, Ganna Gryniva aims to bring into play her multicultural background as a means of unveiling her musical identity. Her work as bandleader and composer combines various musical worlds from jazz to Ukrainian folk to classical and experimental music.

Ganna performs regularly with a variety of ensembles and her own groups such as the Ukrainian ethnic jazz quintet GANNA, free improv voice-drums duo JOGA, the international Kenneth Dahl Knudsen Modern Lyric Orchestra, the interdisciplinary project INTERLINK Music & Dance, GANNA Solo performance with loops and electronica for voice and piano.

Recent highlights include the collaboration with Kurt Rosenwinkel and his label Heartcore Records: Ganna arranged and sang the song „Spivanka“ for the label´s anual project “Heartcore for the World”. The single was released on Heartcore Records in March 2020 and it features boys from the orphanage “Living Pearl” in Ukraine as well as jazz greats Louis Cole on drums, Michael League on Bass, Pedro Martins and Daniel Santiago on guitars. In August 2020, the label Double Moon Records and Jazz Thing Next Generation series release the new album of Ganna´s quintet GANNA. In February 2020, Ganna started to work as the coach for voice and composition for the project „LAUT!“ of the Deutsche Oper in Berlin. It will premiere in October 2020.
Since 2018, Ganna has been supported for three years in a row with a grant from the prestigious „New Liszt Foundation“ to support Ganna´s researches on folklore singing traditions in Ukraine and production of the new album.
Further highlights include the Germany-wide tour with GANNA in April 2018, sponsored by the Berlin Senate for Culture and Europe, concerts at Gewandhaus Leipzig and Kaisersaal Erfurt, performance at the UNISA Voice Competition in Pretoria, South Africa. In January 2017 Ganna became a singer and composer for the international project CHAUD! invited to write music for a jazz orchestra under the direction of the prominent composer and conductor Christoph Cech. This was followed by an album production as well as a tour in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. In the same year Ganna was repeatedly awarded the prize of the “Society of Friends and Supporters of the University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar”. In August 2016, Ganna became a finalist at the International Voicingers Competition in Zory, Poland.
Various musical collaborations have led Ganna to tours in Austria, Switzerland, Denmark, Greece, Polen, Ukraine, Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania, Hungary, South Africa and others.

Currently Ganna is doing her BA in Improvised Voice at the Music Conservatory Franz Liszt in Weimar, where she studies with Michael Schiefel, Jeff Cascaro and Frank Moebus.
Ganna holds a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy from the University of Leipzig and she is a scholarship holder of the German Academic Foreign Service.

Biografie

Ganna Gryniva ist Sängerin, Komponistin und Pianistin. Auf der Suche nach ihrer eigenen Stimme in der zeitgenössischen Musik ist sie als Bandleaderin, Side-Woman, interdisziplinäre Performance- und Freie Improvisation-Künstlerin aktiv. Sie ist ebenfalls Moderatorin des deutsch-ukrainischen Radio TREMBeats FM und Projektmanagerin der NGO „Kul´tura“ in Berlin. Ganna ist Stipendiatin des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes DAAD. Ihren Lebens- und Schaffensschwerpunkt hat sie in Berlin.

Aufgewachsen in der Ukraine und Deutschland sucht Ganna nach Wegen ihre verschiedenen kulturellen Wurzeln zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Ihre Arbeit als Bandleaderin und Komponistin kombiniert Musikwelten von Jazz über ukrainischen Folk bis hin zu klassischer und experimenteller Musik.

Ganna tritt regelmäßig mit verschiedenen Ensembles und ihren eigenen Projekten auf, so wie mit ihrem ukrainischen Ethno-Jazz Quintett GANNA, dem Free-Improv Duo JOGA, als Sängerin des internationalen Kenneth Dahl Knudsen Modern Lyric Orchestra, mit INTERLINK Music & Dance, ihrer Solo-Performance mit Loop Station und Effekten.

Zu den jüngsten Höhepunkten gehört die Zusammenarbeit mit Kurt Rosenwinkel und seinem Label Heartcore Records: Ganna arrangierte und sang das Lied „Spivanka“ für das jährliche Projekt des Labels „Heartcore for the World“. Die Single wurde im März 2020 auf Heartcore Records veröffentlicht und sie featuret die Jazzgrößen Louis Cole am Schlagzeug, Michael League am Bass, Pedro Martins und Daniel Santiago an den Gitarren. Im August 2020 bringen das Label Double Moon Records und die Jazz Thing Next Generation das neue Album des Quintett´s GANNA „DYKYI LYS“ heraus. Im Februar 2020 begann Ganna für das Projekt der Deutschen Oper „LAUT!“ zu arbeiten. Premiere ist für Oktober 2020 geplant.

Seit 2018 erhielt Ganna drei Jahre in Folge das Stipendium der Neuen Liszt Stiftung. Zu den weiteren Höhepunkten gehören die deutschlandweite Tournee mit GANNA im April 2018, welche vom Berliner Senat für Kultur und Europa gefördert wurde, Gastauftritte als Solistin im Gewandhaus Leipzig und Kaisersaal Erfurt, die Performance bei der UNISA Voice Competition in Pretoria (Südafrika) sowie die anschließende Reise durch Südafrika. Im Januar 2017 wurde Ganna als Sängerin und Komponistin für das internationale Projekt CHAUD! eingeladen, um Musik für ein Jazzorchester unter der Leitung des prominenten Komponisten und Dirigenten Christoph Cech zu schreiben. Es folgten eine Albumproduktion sowie eine Tournee in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Im selben Jahr wurde Ganna mehrfach mit dem Förderpreis der „Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar e.V.“ ausgezeichnet. Im August 2016 wurde Ganna Finalistin bei dem internationalen Wettbewerb Voicingers in Zory, Polen. Die Debut-Release Tournee von GANNA im April 2016 wurde ebenfalls vom Berliner Senat für Kultur und Europa gefördert.

Ganna tourte mit verschiedenen internationalen Kooperationsprojekten in Österreich, der Schweiz, Dänemark, Griechenland, Polen, der Ukraine, Lettland, Estland, Litauen, Ungarn, Südafrika und anderen Ländern.
Zur Zeit macht Ganna ihren BA in Improvisiertem Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar, wo sie bei Michael Schiefel, Jeff Cascaro und Frank Moebus studierte.

Ganna Gryniva hat einen Bachelor of Arts in Philosophie an der Universität Leipzig.